Talking to Strangers Part 8 – continued

Allright, as promised. I’m flossing over a lot of our ongoing conversation because it really isn’t all that relevant.

So, Mr. Man started had officially tendered his request for retirement and started a side contract, still in Germany.  He has to be quiet about it as he might lose his pension as a result.

He stayed back while the rest of his crew returned to Denmark. He started the new contract with the other company today.

On Wednesday we were chatting (again, still only on Google Hangouts DM), and I mentioned that the new company that has acquired my company has started making cuts on a very high level. He was concerned and asked if that meant I would be losing my job.  I might, eventually, but since I got my payout from my stock options, I’m really not all that concerned. I’m debt free, have no car or mortgage payments, and when I return from my trip to Italy in October, my plan is to start making offers on a condo.

I’m just waiting for my second payout once we’ve met a certain milestone. What ever happens after that is just fine by me.

So as we’re chatting yesterday, he tells me that he’s been thinking about something all day, but not sure how I would take it.  He came up with an idea.  He wants to know if it’s possible that we buy a house sooner than I had planned? He is planning on sending me something. Did I go to the gym today?

WHAT? That is the biggest pivot I’ve ever seen. What is he sending me?

He asked that I don’t judge him when he tells me.  Oh fuck, here we go….

He has had a consignment afloat since 2011. (ok, right out of the gate and I’m lost already). It is his share of gifts and rewards during his time in Lybia. the whole country was in turmoil and there was too much to share. (I feel like I’m in a movie, this is so not part of my every day life that I have no clue how to react to this).

What’s a consignment? Apparently it’s a box with a 6 digit password to open it. He emailed the courier company earlier today but hasn’t gotten a reply yet. When he does, he will let me know.

Uhm…what? What does this have to do with buying a house earlier.

He wants to send the box to me.  He was keeping it should he retire and not get paid on time. It contains a few sets of gold jewelry and money.

Honestly, all I could think of was me showing up to pick up this parcel, and a bunch of immigration folks swarming me. Scenario #2 is having this thing delivered to my home, then someone breaking in to my place in the middle of the night and stealing it and putting a bullet through my skull. How do I know what’s really in this box.  What’s the freaking rush?

So, I did what I do best. I panicked. I said I did not think that was a good idea as sending that stuff would be under scrutiny at customs. He said they would do a thorough check for drugs and illicit items. If I’m not cool with the idea, it’s ok.

More to follow tomorrow, I’m exhausted.  Feel free to leave your coments

 

9 thoughts on “Talking to Strangers Part 8 – continued

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.