When It’s Okay To Talk To Strangers

Peeps! I’ve missed you.  I have barely had a moment to myself this past week.  Work has been crazy and I have been staying too late at the office and then not making enough time for myself in the morning to read what my favorite bloggers are up to.

So, couple of things.  Yesterday was my birthday.  I was inundated with lovely text messages, phone calls and posts on Facebook.  I know it sounds cheesier than a package of Kraft singles, but it’s true; knowing that people took time to wish me well was the best gift a person could ask for.

No big plans were made and I was happy with that.  There comes a time in a person’s life where that just is not so important anymore.  I think I’ve reached that point.

My son, his girlfriend and a couple of my closest friends wanted to make sure that I was not alone and lacking something to do.  I love them all for it, but this year I wanted a very low key birthday.  My heart was filled with good things because of their thoughtfulness.

I ended up leaving the house a little later than expected and took myself out for a nice breakfast at Allo Mon Coco.  Yes, alone.  I loved it.  I brought my gift to myself with me – a travel guide to Italy.  This has been on my bucket list for a while now and my gift to me is starting my plans to see it through.

Aaaanyhoooo…..I walked past the long line up at the resto and was immediately seated at the bar area (cool concept for a breakfast place – singletons need to eat too).  My blood sugar was so low, I did not have the patience to look at the menu but rather told the girl what I wanted. French toast, cinnamon, LOADS of strawberries.  Clearly she understands what a person on the brink of being “hangry” is all about.  My breakfast was in front of me within 10 minutes.

A couple of minutes after, a fellow male singleton sat next to me. We kind of glanced at each other, nobody said a word.  After settling in, he noticed my travel book, and he opened up the conversation.  We ended up talking for two hours.  Is that not the coolest thing ever?  I love when that happens.

In the age of social media, when everyone is staring at their phones or iPads, an actual conversation took place between two strangers.  That to me is what being social is about.  It’s not about how many “friends” a person has on FB, or followers on Instagram, or Twitter.

We both finished our meals, paid our tabs and walked to the exit together.  We shook hands, thanked the other for fun conversation and went on our separate merry ways.  He threw a little “Hey, maybe I’ll see you here again sometime”.  My response was “You never know”.

Some might say I should have offered up my cell number, or tried to firm up meeting again, but I disagree.  Some days all a person wants is good conversation and being free as a bird to walk away.  Yesterday was that kind of day.  It was perfect.

allo-mon-coco-other-1

7 thoughts on “When It’s Okay To Talk To Strangers

  1. aww Happy Birthday!! It sounds like you had a great time. And I agree, sometimes it’s just nice to have good conversation and then part. Maybe you will see Mr Breakfast again? That would be pretty neat!!

    Like

  2. Sounds like you had a perfect Birthday, I loved this post. I hope you get to tick off that item on your bucket list. I have been working on mine diligently over the last 8 months and it has so far been very rewarding and fulfilling.

    Liked by 1 person

      • So far it has included flying a Cessna, I mean really flying it myself, zip lining, climbing through the tree tops like Tarzan, odd stuff like riding a bobcat, tractor and ATV and even weirder stuff like a lap dance in a strip club. Places have included New Orleans for Mardi Gras, Canada to visit an online friend and Vegas, Upcoming events are floating down the Guadalupe river, skydiving, parasailing and I an now considering climbing a mountain, not sure which one yet. I am also planning a trip to the UK, another Canadian trip, Central park in New York and another Vegas trip…I have 4 months left to cross as much of this off as possible

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

