Staycation Day #5 (Tuesday)

Oh Netflix.  How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways. Apparently only one count.

Yesterday was a stay at home quiet day.  I puttered around, did little things like paint my nails, read, and then plopped myself on the sofa to (what I thought would be) binge on Netflix.  I can’t do it.

Television is like a sleeping pill to me. If I sit still for too long, I doze off.  I did my best to sit through Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children…..zzzzz.  Did I mention I can’t stand Tim Burton films?  They’re so……creepy.

When I bought my new living room sofa furniture, I made sure to buy only a love seat and  chair. That way I would not fall asleep on them right? Wrong.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve woken up at 1:00 am or later,  curled up on the love seat with a stiff neck.

So, I decided to leave the house and go for a bike ride along the river.  Much better.  When I got back I sat on the balcony with my kitties and listened to some of my favorite podcasts. CBC’s Laugh Out Loud is so funny.  It’s the type of comedy that isn’t peppered with the F-bomb every second sentence.

That was my day.  I feel like I wasted it, to be honest.  It’s incredible how some of us are hard wired to be on the move constantly.  If I can’t sit still for one day, I can’t help but wonder what the retirement years will look like.  Granted I still have about 15 years to go, but time is a thief and years can go by so quickly.

A friend of mine has retired a couple of years ago kind of unexpectedly.  She was getting off the bus after work, slipped on the ice and broke her pelvis.  Once she was done with the healing and rehab process, she just decided to retire early.  Just like that.  Brave soul! With no husband or children, I’m not sure what she fills her days with.  All I know is I do not want to be in her shoes when my time comes. I need to stay busy, so I guess now is the time to get involved in different activities and interests that can be carried into those years when we have more time on our hands.

That’s the thing about staycations….they make you think!

Leave a Reply

