Staycation Day #2 (Saturday)

My friends, I wish I had a more exciting day to report, but it rained sooooooo much out here yesterday.  I don’t mind a little sprinkling here and there, but this was ridiculous.  I was starting to keep my eyes peeled for an old guy building an arc.

So, a better part of my day was spent preparing my new walk-in closet/office.  The prodigal moved out two weeks ago and that spare room is officially mine once more.

After much pulling and pushing, my Pax Ikea wardrobes were transferred back to that room.   It goes without saying, but I could not have done it without the invaluable help from my little assistant, Angus Mckitten.

Angus helping

No idea where Waldo is, but I think I just spotted Angus Mckitten.

So, finally, the rain stopped at about 6:30 pm.  Part of me wanted to just be lazy and flake out on the sofa, but that is a trap I don’t want to fall in to.  Being single, it’s all too easy to just give up and do nothing.   I hit the shower and headed out to the local Canada Day festivities.

At first I thought everything had been cancelled because of the weather, but then eureka! Sign of life appeared in the distance.

20170701_194833_Burst01

There was all sorts of fun stuff going on.  Canada is very multi cultural and so the city of Lasalle once again hosted a soup kitchen with flavors from all over the globe. Yum!

 

Some acts were good, and some better than others.  The important thing is that they came out and entertained.  The Samajam Rock Show was crazy fun.  They basically gave you “instruments” (drum sticks and other items) and you followed along with the beat. They even had their own musicians and they play all the rock classics everyone knows.

Samajam_top(18juin13)_Slogo-6

Judging from the kids’ reaction, the music was good.  Their night went something like this:

jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump

twirl

jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump jump

Hilarious!  I couldn’t help but chuckle.  Then there are the people who think they are really good dancers and make a spectacle of themselves.  Equally entertaining!  One mom was swinging her kid around so much I thought his arm was going to be pulled right out of the socket.  Her energy level outlasted his and by the end of the evening she was practically dragging his limp little body by his feet back to the car.

All in all, it was a good night.  I have to say, our burroughs put a lot of thought and care into pulling together family oriented festivities.  At first I felt a little odd showing up solo, but I’m glad I went.

Just as we all were leaving….the skies opened up and it poured rain once more!

I

2 thoughts on “Staycation Day #2 (Saturday)

  1. From my personal experience going solo gets easier as time goes on…I get so sometimes now going solo is the preference!! Who doesn’t love a good sun shower, sounds like you had a good day!!

    Like

    • Thanks for your input! Some days I’m totally comfortable with it, other days, not as much. For example, the music was really good and I would have loved to get up and dance, but felt way too awkward. I was saying the exact same thing to someone the other day about at times preferring to do something on my own.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

