Monday Weigh-in

Well Zip-a-dee-doo-dah!  Stepped on the scale and am happy to report that I’ve lost a little more.  The reading this morning was 181.8. Yes!  I know, it’s small potatoes, but it’s something.

This past Saturday I signed up and attended a Meetup group outing.  I am not at a loss for friends, but honestly, they just do not have the same motivation to go out there and move.

We were supposed to go for a light hike followed by kayaking. We took a wrong turn on the trails and ended up walking a lot longer than anticipated.  We started walking at 11:30 a.m. and finally finished at 3:30 pm.  Ugh…..I was parched and exhausted and famished and I swear, was ready to just scream “I give up!!!” and lie in the middle of the fields until the next thaw.

Kayaking did not happen.  I did not have one ounce of energy left in me.  My two co-passengers (I volunteered to offer lifts), who were much younger than I also felt the same.

So after downing what seemed like one million litres (or gallons if you’re American) of water, off we went back to the city.

I was so sore the next day, but it felt great to move and it all paid off.  I’m glad I went, because true to form, I’m getting bored with the gym.  I only average one day per week, which is why I won’t waste money on memberships any longer.  I buy passes.  Some argue it might be more expensive, but to each their own.  Unless I am ready to go there four times a week, it’s not going to happen.  I used to spend a lot of time at the gym and I’m over that. It felt like a chore. Yes, I do have commitment issues on many levels.

I took a peek at the pics snapped on our outing…sigh….I should not have done that.  I look like a hippopotamus in athletic gear.  Gosh I so want to lose weight.  I cannot stand what I look like.  There were some there bigger than me, lumpier, squishier, but my eyes always zero in on all my imperfections.  I hate it.  I hate that the outside does not match the inside.  Why can I be accepting of other people that carry extra weight, but bash myself constantly over it.  They seem so comfortable in their bodies and I clearly am not.  I hide from cameras.

Also, do cameras really make a person look wider?  Stay with me on this, I’m not being delusional.  A friend of mine just completed a Spartan race.  She has lost a ton of weight, but on her race pics, she looks so much heavier than she really is.  What’s up with that?

Happy Monday, all.  Keep smiling!

 

Leave a Reply

