Friday Night Solo

I don’t know about you, but I have mixed feelings about Friday nights.  On the one hand, it’s the end of the work week.  Hallelujah!  On the other hand, if you’re single, it’s a bit of a hard transition.

Once upon a time, when my son was little, Friday nights were all about picking up some McDonald’s and letting him pick out a movie at Blockbuster.   Then we would head home, chill, and make our plans for the weekend.

Pre-mommy days consisted of going out for supper, drinks, and getting my dance on with my girlfriends at one of the many hot spots in Montreal.  Boy, the mischief we would get into.  Good times.

Flash forward, one kid, one divorce, a couple of break ups and my life has changed significantly.  Some of the girls have married, some are now single and put more importance on finding a mate than cementing bonds that were forged long ago, and some have just become, well, boring.

Now that I don’t have anyone “needing” to be cared for, fed, loved, paid attention to, knock boots with, my time is my own.  Wow, what a feeling.  It’s time I really embraced this part of my life.

I had a super stressful week at work.  The project I asked to take on following the resignation of a colleague….is a real stinker.  Regretting every moment of having taking the initiative to take it on.

Not wanting to head home, but also not wanting to do anything too crazy, I head to the mall. I had a mother’s day gift certificate burning a hole in my pocket and decided to cash that baby in.

I never thought a trip to the mall could be so satisfying to all senses.  I luxuriated in all things pretty to sight, smell, touch, taste.  I came home happy, relaxed and satisfied.

My first stop was at Bath and Body Works.  Thank you, son, for the gift certificate!

20170519_190805

My Personal Mecca!

You guys….this place…can you say love? The colors, the scents, the displays.

20170519_191010

Really?! I’ll take a lifetime supply!!

Damage done, total cost $1.74.  Yep, you read correctly.  Don’t you just love gift certificates.

Next stop, a little snack.  Friday night is officially “I can eat whatever I want night”.  Naturally, I chose gelato.  This pretty little concoction is made up of a scoop each of lime, grapefuit and toasted coconut.  The perfect blend of tart, fresh and creamy.

20170519_195843

Yummy AND pretty!

The variety at this little shop were a feast for the eyes.  I did my best to behave though.

 

Finally, I sat and enjoyed my treat.  The Aldo boutique had a nice media display going on.  These guys are evil genius’.

This caught my eye.

20170519_201147

Which naturally led me to have a closer look at this…

20170519_201609

Seriously, how adorable are these?

So that was my Friday night solo in a nutshell.  All my senses were indulged and I got to walk around and burn some calories in the process.  Hey, who knows?  Maybe one day a handsome stranger will strike up a conversation and my Friday night solos will turn into a duet.

Happy Saturday, all!

Leave a Reply

