I’m No Marshall Mathers, But I’m Cleaning Out My Closet Anyway

Holy holy holy crap.  Why on earth did I think this was a good idea?  I’ve been feeling good-ish about my eating and exercise this week.  I was looking forward to stepping on the scale Monday morning and posting my weight.  Now I’m terrified.

I decided to do a bit more de-cluttering and re-organize in my wardrobe.  There’s stuff in there that I’ve had forever.  I kid you not – about 90% of my stuff no longer fits.  How long has it been since I’ve gone shopping?  Clearly, way too long.  What the heck have I been wearing anyway?  I’ve got some really cute tops that I’ve been holding on to for “when I lose weight”.  Well, out they go.  Turns out I’m not really all that attached to them anyway.

I made a deal with myself that for new articles of clothing I bring in, something old has to go.  The thought of it panicked me at first, but it’s actually a huge relief to let go of stuff that I just don’t care for anymore.  It certainly makes getting ready a whole lot easier when my closet isn’t jam packed and I’m practically breaking my arms trying to maneuver  clothing around.

Still though, it does stress me a bit that the sizes have gotten bigger, but the upside is that it’s giving me an opportunity to look a bit more stylish and I’m having fun shopping. Even if I don’t actually buy anything, it’s a great learning experience.  I’m seeing what does and does not work on my body type.  For too long I hid behind “safe” choices.  It’s ok for bigger girls to look fashionable too.  It took me a long time to embrace that.  Beauty comes in all shapes and sizes.

However, I don’t want to buy too many pieces because the goal is to lose weight without going broke in the process.  Enter the capsule wardrobe. Have you heard of this?  It’s genius.  Its based on the concept that you only need about 37 articles of clothing per season.  Less really is more.  Think also, less laundry, less money spent, less stress in the morning.  Don’t take my word for it, check out Caroline Rector’s blog at Un-fancy.com and she’ll walk you through the ins and outs of it.

Have you been guilty of holding on to clothing that just don’t work for you anymore?  If so, I urge you to take the plunge and get rid of it!  Pretty please, just don’t toss it to the curb though.  Our landfills are not getting any smaller, and if you take a couple minutes out of your day and drop your cast offs to your local goodwill or thrift shop, you’ll be making a huge difference in someone else’s life and to Mother Nature.

Happy Sunday, all!

Leave a Reply

