Mind Over Matter

It’s Sunday, and that means in two days I go for my weigh in.  I missed two weeks because I was too shame faced to show up.  My tracking was done in a half-hearted haphazard way.

At some point last week I realized how I was self sabotaging myself by letting a difficult family member get in the way of my goals and my focus.  I realized that I will NEVER be able to change how this person acts towards me.  All I can do is change how I re-act.  I have done my best and given my all.  The rest is up to him and now it’s time for me to live my life because nobody else is going to do it for me.

So here’s the thing, I had a craving for chocolate cake. Although I prefer home baked goods, I was nursing a cold and too tired to bake.  I also knew that portion control would be an issue if I baked a whole cake!  So, when I did my groceries, a little box of chocolate mokas made their way into my shopping cart.

Later in the afternoon I indulged.  You know what?  It tasted horrible.  My taste buds have gotten so used to fresh fruits and veggies that they flat out rejected this “treat”.  Honestly, I couldn’t taste cake at all.  All I tasted was chemicals and preservatives.  Well, well!  I’d say that’s a good thing.  The  remainder of the little cakes are in my freezer for anyone else who might fancy them.  This, my friends, is progress!

 

Leave a Reply

