A New Week Begins

I took a bit of time this past week to ask myself some serious questions.  How badly do I want this weight loss?  How tired am I of looking in the mirror and hating what I see?  How long am I going to let other people’s behavior affect my goals?  When am I going to start living my life, just for me?  When will I start putting myself first?

The answer is right now.  I have to do this.  I’ve worked hard and have done my best as a single parent for many many years.  It’s no surprise to anyone who knows me well how difficult those years have been at times.  I’m a person who wears her heart on her sleeve, and there have been two people in my life that have for the most part treated me as though my time and my life were unimportant.  Everything I had in me was to make their lives easier in some way or to blame me when things went wrong.

So now it’s all about me.  It’s my time to shine.  I know that tomorrow’s weigh in will not go well, but I’m going to be accountable and step on that scale anyway.  I will continue until I reach my goal weight and nobody is going to get in my way any longer.  I’m kicking it off with a spa day today.    Normally when I have some time off, I usually run around doing errands or visit an ageing family member.  Not today.  I deserve a break and I’m doing what feels good for me.

Leave a Reply

